Does Anybody Really Know What Job It Is? Does Anybody Really Care?

Why am I writing? Well, I can tell you, because I love it. I love researching and stringing together words that click, words that people can love to read and learn. But in the world of Freelancer, oDesk, and Elance, which have mostly been absorbed into a new conglomerate Upwork, bidding for projects is like throwing your life away.

Granted, I needed a place to start. It is a thrill the first time a person receives any pay for their work. Who cares if you had to research, layout, find copyright free images, and completely edit a 10,000-15,000 word e-book for $100. Let’s not forget that the bidding service takes a percentage AND PayPal takes a percentage when being paid for a service. The project probably took several days, AND it was ghostwritten so you can’t use it for a future writing sample AND you cleared $85-$90. Not a wage a person can live with or make a living from.

But at least they were honest about it. They told you what they wanted, they allowed you to bid, and you knew the service and PayPal were going to get a cut. Then if you wanted to bid fine; if you didn’t fine. Simple as that. Sometimes I still go back and bid out projects just to keep a bit of money coming in. You see, if there is no money coming in, my husband does not count me as a serious writer.

What is beginning to annoy the crap out of me, is the job boards that advertise freelance remote writing jobs that simply send you to another job board with more advertising. I went about three layers deep before I got fed up with the merry-go-round of trying to find decent freelance writing jobs for decent pay. Is that really too much to ask? I don’t think it should be.

Now my inbox is filled with job offers for office jobs, clerical on-site jobs, heck I even got a tire changer for Love’s Truck Stop from my search parameters Freelance Remote Writing Jobs, Freelance Writing, Freelance Writer. They don’t care what they send you once you’ve signed in and start getting the advertising they are being paid for. It breaks my heart and wastes my time.

There are a few good services like MasterWritingJobs.com which wants an upfront fee of about $35 for listings. Most of the listings require BS degree which I do not have, but I did land a three-month contract job that paid 10 cents per word. They don’t usually send you to more than just the actual business site or to the person’s email to apply. That is refreshing.

The yearly Writer’s Market Deluxe Edition from Writer’s Digest Books has essays and lists for how to pitch to magazines and journals for high paying writing projects. But most of those listings want seasoned writers, not newbies with no valid writing samples. I have a few published newspaper articles, but my local paper doesn’t carry much clout with national or international publications. It is a good source though. The 2017 version is probably still available for a heavily discounted price because the 2018 version is already selling; plus you get an ebook copy for easier access. They also have specialized versions to help narrow the market for you.

I just signed up with C Hope Clark’s Funds for Writers after reading her book. She seems truly interested in sifting through all of the hype to help people find good writing gigs and contests with decent awards. Nothing yet, but I’ve just signed up, so more on that, later.

Bottom line, be careful about the Inbox Stuffers who are making their money sending loads of advertising and crap once they get your contact information. Because if I wanted to be a tire changer for the Love’s Truck Stop I would have just stopped at the station and applied. Sheesh.

This entry was published on August 9, 2017 at 8:08 pm and is filed under American, At home, Employment, Family, Feminism, Green Living, Humor, Lessons from the past., Living/Style, musings, Nostalgia, Nostalgia, Personal, Simple living, travel, Uncategorized, Winning, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Does Anybody Really Know What Job It Is? Does Anybody Really Care?

  1. Pingback: Does Anybody Really Know What Job It Is? Does Anybody Really Care? | writingforme1961

  2. mychirpylife on said:

    “You see, if there is no money coming in, my husband does not count me as a serious writer.”

    I feel you because I am in the same situation.

Leave a Reply

