Today is

Today is my birthday. I took off work at my regular job, but mostly I just want to have the day to do what I want to do. You know the song, “It’s my birthday. I can cry if I want to.”

But I am not crying. Mostly once you’ve passed a certain age, having a birthday is a milestone that we made it one more year. Not so much for presents, or parties, or dinners, but a gentle reminder that we’ve circled the sun one more time.

Having a birthday is a time to remember the people we know that do not have birthdays anymore. One of my classmates recently passed away. Several were already gone, but losing another one this close to my birthday, made me feel especially thoughtful. It reminded me how fragile life is. Nothing is promised, there is just hope we will have another day.

I’m trying extremely hard not to take any days I have for granted. I may not accomplish every task on my to do list; I may not even make a to do list, but I want to celebrate that I am breathing. I am alive. I can feel the sun on my face, the wind in my hair, watch the hummingbirds, notice the rabbit in the yard, and smell the flowers around me. So what if it is cliché, part of getting older is becoming a cliché if you are lucky.

If you read this post, take a moment to just close your eyes and think about the things in your life you are thankful for. Forget about bills, deadlines, family responsibilities, health, and all the things that are challenging today. Just think about the positive things you are thankful for. Take a deep breath and just be. Most people don’t take the time to just be.

Regardless of what religious choice you have in your life, the quote, “Be still and know I am God.” is advice for everyone. You can add the word universe, or whatever word you want to end that sentence, but the idea is to just be still for a moment and clear your mind, your heart, and give your soul a chance to rest. Think happy thoughts of the good moments in your life. It will recharge you, and help you see the world as possibilities, not endless chores.

garden walk

Here’s to hoping we all make that trip around the sun one more time.

My new trip starts today.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on July 19, 2017 at 1:02 am. It’s filed under musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

52 thoughts on “Today is

  1. Happy Birthday 😊

  2. Happy Birthday! Have a wonderful day!

  3. Happy Birthday!!! 🙂 ❤

  4. Happy Birthday

  5. Wonderful sentiments, Darlene. Have a great day! 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday! Thank you for the great advice!

  7. I wish for you the happiest of birthdays. I agree with you, when I was young a birthday was just a day to gather gifts. Now that I am older it becomes more of a celebration of life. As you say, we made it around the sun one more time. Here’s hoping you have many, many more trips and thousands more stories to share with us.

  8. Lovely post, I like the words you used: “circled the sun one more time”. I hope you have a wonderful day! 🙂

  9. Happy Birthday!

  10. Happy Birthday. Lovely Post. I really loved, “So what if it is cliché, part of getting older is becoming a cliché if you are lucky.” I recently started maintaining a gratitude journal. It’s so important to be thankful for all the good things in our lives. Including the opportunity “to make that trip around the sun one more time.”

  11. Thank you for sharing. Happy birthday and bestest wishes 🙂

  12. Happy birthday ☺😊.Have a wonderful day😇❤.

  13. I read this post twice.Great post.

  14. Happy birthday. My father-in-law did not like to celebrate birthdays. He felt numbers were limiting — we are always too young for this or too old for that. I agree with his premise, but have always made a point to celebrate people’s birthdays anyway as a time to celebrate that person, that individual.

    • I think your father-in-law is correct. The number of actual years we’ve been here has nothing to do with how developed we are on our path to maturity and self-examination.

  15. Belated Happy birthday! 😍

  16. I just started reading your posts and trust me, they are wonderful. (Just read the one about the incident when you were on your way to work) It is so nice to read about personal experiences which teach us so much. Keep writing! I’d love to read more posts like these. 💕 God bless you.

  17. Belated Happy Birthday! I agree with you on this post.

  18. And here’s another. ..happy birthday!

  19. Belated happy birthday to you. May every day be a blessing and love.

  20. I am grateful that I am able to meet my needs. Today that means being able to eat and take care of my health – which isn’t great. Being able to set little goals – play my violin, phone a friend, 1 piece of study, not do any photo editing. To be able to rest, I’m going to have a nap once I’ve written up my review of a photographer.

    Thankyou for the invite to be still and be grateful.

    • You are welcome. Sounds like you’ve had a good morning (I understand having health challenges). I’ve been answering and commenting, watching the hummingbirds, and brushing about 10 lbs of extra hair off my dog. I just might take a nap myself. Have a great day filled with blessings.

  21. Happy Birthday, belatedly.

  22. What a lovely post. Many happy returns of the day to you albeit belated.

  23. Happy belated Birthday! I hit 50 last February, I know exactly what you mean! 🙂

  24. Happy belated birthday greetings. Hope you had a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

